About the Society

The Society was formed in 1946 and, since then, has arranged four chamber music society concerts each Spring.

Our aims are to provide the opportunity to hear and enjoy chamber music of the highest quality, to provide a varied programme for the season and to engage artists of a high standard. Only professional artists of a high calibre are engaged; however we also wish to encourage and engage young artists at the start of their careers.

Notable performers have included  Janet Baker; Felicity Lott, Freddy Kempf, Thomas Allen, Emma Johnson, Tasmin Little, Angela Hewitt, The Sixteen, Steven Isserliss and The Kings Singers and many top class ensembles such as the Allegri Quartet, the Schubert Ensemble, the Carducci Quartet. the Nash Ensemble and the Orchestra of the Swan. The Society occasionally commissions new works and artists have also been engaged to give workshops and concerts in local schools.

In particular, the Society wishes to encourage concert-going amongst the young.  This is done by offering tickets at nominal prices and special rates for school parties.

Patronage Scheme

We have continually rising costs, especially of artists' fees.  Income from membership subscriptions and ticket sales covers about two-thirds of the costs.  The gap is filled by our sponsors, patrons and donors.


Niels Jensen, Secretary: 01452 814799, for all general enquiries

Chris Swain, Chairman: 01453 822998

Dennis Morgan, Ticket Sales ONLY: 
Tel: 01285 821854 
E-mail pmsglen@gmail.com